Watershed Management Authority

The Upper Iowa River Watershed Management Authority (WMA) was formed in November 2015 and is a board of directors from cities, counties, soil and water conservation districts (SWCDs) within the Upper Iowa River basin who have agreed to work together in order to:

  • Assess and reduce the flood risks and improve water quality in the watershed;
  • Monitor the federal flood risk planning and activities;
  • Educate residents; and
  • Allocate monies for purposes of water quality and flood mitigation.


Next Meeting

  • Nov 8, 2018, 5:00-7:00pm, in the Decorah City Council Chambers

Meeting Minutes



  • Allamakee County: Dan Byrnes
  • Allamakee County Soil and Water Conservation District: Jack Knight (Vice Chair)
  • City of Decorah: Andy Carlson
  • City of Lime Springs
  • Howard County: Jan McGovern
  • Howard County Soil and Water Conservation District: Harlan Hickle
  • Winneshiek County: John Beard (Chair)
  • Winneshiek County Soil and Water Conservation District: Mark Jensen (Secretary)

Founding Document

Upper Iowa River WMA 28E Agreement (PDF)

Watershed Resident Survey

Watershed Resident Survey